Gobble
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
| Gobble | |
|---|---|
| Keyword Ability | |
| Type | Static |
| Introduced | Unfinity |
| Last used | Unfinity |
| Reminder Text | Gobble N (Each time you gobble, take a bite of food or sacrifice a Food token.) |
| Scryfall Statistics | |
Gobble is an acorn keyword ability introduced in Unfinity. It is an additional cost.
Description
As an additional cost to cast a spell with gobble, you may take N bites of food or sacrifice N Food tokens where N is the number that appears after the keyword.
Gobble only appears on one sorcery in Unfinity.
Rulings
From the Release Notes for Unfinity (October 7, 2022)[1]
- All Food tokens are sacrificed at the same time. All bites of food are taken one at a time. (Can you even take two bites of food at the same time? Isn't that just a larger bite?) You are allowed to swallow between bites. In fact, we encourage it!
- Gum isn't food. Trust us on this one.
From Blogatog (paraphrased) (September 24, 2022)[2]
- To take a bite of food means to take a bite of any size, big or small.
Examples
Example
Pie-Eating Contest
Sorcery
As an additional cost to cast this spell, gobble X. (Each time you gobble, take a bite of food or sacrifice a Food token.)
X target creatures you control each get +2/+2 and gain trample until end of turn.
References
- ↑ Mark Rosewater and Jess Dunks (October 7, 2022). "Unfinity Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- ↑ Two Blogatog posts:
- Mark Rosewater (September 24, 2022). "For Pie-Eating Contest, can I take as small of a bite as I can to get as many X triggers as I can?". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- Mark Rosewater (September 24, 2022). "Unfinity Rules Question: How much would you say is a bite for paying Gobble X on Pie-Eating Contest". Blogatog. Tumblr.