Behold
Behold | |
---|---|
Keyword Action | |
Introduced | Tarkir: Dragonstorm |
Last used | Tarkir: Dragonstorm |
Reminder Text | Behold an [object] (To behold an [object], choose an [object] you control or reveal an [object] card from your hand.) |
Scryfall Statistics | |
Behold is a keyword action introduced in Tarkir: Dragonstorm where it is tied to the Dragon creature type.[1][2] It allows a player to trade information for an additional effect.
Description
A player can "behold an object" if they have a corresponding object in their hand to be revealed or if they control a corresponding object on the battlefield. The keyword is similar to the Dragons-matter cycle of cards in Dragons of Tarkir, which have additional effects if the controller revealed or controlled a Dragon. Some spells may have an additional effect if a Dragon was beheld. This applies no matter which manner of beholding you chose, and it applies no matter what happened to the Dragon or Dragon card in question.
Initially, the Behold mechanic was restricted to Dragons, tying in with the themes of Tarkir: Dragonstorm. It ties in with Omen, both being mechanics that portent the Dragons that may come later. Mark Rosewater has announced that it will be deciduous.[3] It is especially suited to care about big powerful things that are slow to come into play.
History
Behold | Introduction | Date |
---|---|---|
a Dragon | Tarkir: Dragonstorm | 2025-04 |
Rules
From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (July 25, 2025—Edge of Eternities)
- Behold
- A keyword action that allows a player to choose a permanent they control of a particular quality or reveal a card of that quality from their hand, usually to pay a cost or get an additional effect. See rule 701.4, “Behold.”
From the Comprehensive Rules (July 25, 2025—Edge of Eternities)
- 701.4. Behold
- 701.4a “Behold a [quality]” means “Reveal a [quality] card from your hand or choose a [quality] permanent you control on the battlefield.”
- 701.4b The phrase “if a [quality] was beheld” refers to whether or not the object had that quality at the time the player took that action, regardless of whether or not the revealed card or chosen permanent still has that quality as the spell or ability including that phrase resolves.
Rulings
- If an effect refers to a "[subtype] card," it refers only to a card that has that subtype. For example, Teeming Dragonstorm is a card that cares about Dragons and features Dragons in its art, but it isn't a Dragon card.[4]
- Effects that say "If a [quality] was beheld" only care if a card of that quality was revealed or a permanent you control of that quality was chosen. No matter what happens to that card or permanent after that, it was still beheld, and any additional effects that depend on that card or permanent being beheld will still happen.
- If a cost to cast a spell includes revealing a card, that card remains revealed from the time the spell is announced until the time it leaves the stack.
- If a card in your hand is already revealed (perhaps because it was revealed to pay a cost of a spell that's still on the stack or due to the effect of a card like Telepathy), you may reveal it again to pay the cost of another spell or ability that requires you to reveal a card from your hand.
Example
Example
Caustic Exhale
Instant
Reach
As an additional cost to cast this spell, behold a Dragon or pay . (To behold a Dragon, choose a Dragon you control or reveal a Dragon card from your hand.)
Target creature gets -3/-3 until end of turn.
References
- ↑ Athena Froehlich, Jubilee Finnegan (February 21, 2025). "Collecting Tarkir: Dragonstorm – A First Look". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- ↑ Matt Tabak (March 18, 2025). "Tarkir: Dragonstorm Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- ↑ Wizards of the Coast (February 21, 2025). "The Preview Panel - MagicCon: Chicago 2025 (Video)". Magic: The Gathering. YouTube.
- ↑ Jess Dunks & Eric Levine (March 27, 2025). "Tarkir: Dragonstorm Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.