Riot
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
| Riot | |
|---|---|
| Keyword Ability | |
| Type | Static |
| Introduced | Ravnica Allegiance |
| Last used | Marvel's Spider-Man |
| Reminder Text | Riot (This creature enters with your choice of a +1/+1 counter or haste.) |
| Scryfall Statistics | |
Riot is a keyword ability, which allows you to choose between gaining a +1/+1 counter or haste when a creature enters the battlefield. It was introduced in Ravnica Allegiance for the Gruul Clans of Ravnica.[1][2][3]
Rules
From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (November 14, 2025—Avatar: The Last Airbender)
- Riot
- A keyword ability that lets a player choose whether certain creatures enter the battlefield with haste or with a +1/+1 counter. See rule 702.136, “Riot.”
From the Comprehensive Rules (November 14, 2025—Avatar: The Last Airbender)
- 702.136. Riot
- 702.136a Riot is a static ability. “Riot” means “You may have this permanent enter with an additional +1/+1 counter on it. If you don’t, it gains haste.”
- 702.136b If a permanent has multiple instances of riot, each works separately.
Rulings
From the Release Notes for Ravnica Allegiance (November 12, 2018)[4]
- Riot is a replacement effect. Players can’t respond to your choice of +1/+1 counter or haste, and they can’t take actions while the creature is on the battlefield without one or the other.
- If a creature entering the battlefield has riot but can’t have a +1/+1 counter put onto it, it gains haste.
- If you choose for the creature to gain haste, it gains haste indefinitely. It won’t lose it as the turn ends or as another player gains control of it.
- If a creature enters the battlefield with two instances of riot, you may choose to have it get two +1/+1 counters, one +1/+1 counter and haste, or two instances of haste. Multiple instances of haste on the same creature are redundant, but we’re not going to tell the Gruul how to live their lives.
Examples
Example
Gruul Spellbreaker
Creature — Ogre Warrior
3/3
Riot (This creature enters with your choice of a +1/+1 counter or haste.)
Trample
As long as it's your turn, you and this creature have hexproof.
Cards that grant riot
References
- ↑ Matt Tabak (December 17, 2018). "Ravnica Allegiance Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast. Archived from the original on 2018-12-17.
- ↑ Gavin Verhey (January 3, 2019). "Starting a Riot". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast. Archived from the original on 2020-05-06.
- ↑ Mark Rosewater (January 7, 2019). "Building Allegiances, Part 2". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- ↑ Eli Shiffrin, Laurie Cheers, Carsten Haese, Nathan Long, and Thijs van Ommen (November 12, 2018). "Ravnica Allegiance™ Release Notes (DOCX), pp. 3–4". Wizards of the Coast. Retrieved on November 20, 2025.
