Awaken

From Magic: The Gathering Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Awaken
Keyword Ability
Type Static (1st ability)
Spell (2nd ability)
Introduced Duel Decks: Zendikar vs. Eldrazi‎
Last used Battle for Zendikar‎
Reminder Text Awaken N—[cost] (If you cast this card for [cost], also put N +1/+1 counters on target land you control and it becomes a 0/0 Elemental creature with haste. It's still a land.)
Storm Scale 4[1]
Scryfall Statistics

Awaken is a an alternative cost keyword ability that was introduced in Duel Decks: Zendikar vs. Eldrazi‎, as a preview for Battle for Zendikar‎.

History

Awaken spells are largely sorceries, with two that are instants. If a spell is cast for its awaken cost, in addition to its other effects, it animates a land you control as a 0/0 Elemental creature with N +1/+1 counters on it.[2][3] The ability grants haste as a minor concession to gameplay, as realistically a player should have at least five other land targets that would not be summoning sick when animated, so they are not punished for not tracking which land entered this turn. Awaken spells largely are in white and blue but also had a common cycle.

In design, the number of +1/+1 counters, was locked - first at 2 and then at 3. Development changed it to a number to add an extra "knob" to balance them.[4] They also tried to avoid creating large flash blockers by not putting it on many instants but allowed one such design through (Encircling Fissure).

Awaken is similar to Evoke of a spell effect that can add a creature as a kicker-like effect. However, instead of being a creature with an entry ability that sacrifices itself, it is instead instant or sorcery that creates a creature through animating a land.

Awaken is a 6 on the Storm Scale, having last been seen at 4 in 2016[5]. It was moderately popular and generally easy to design for, but it has failed to find a second home since its introduction. It has also not had new cards from any supplementary products. Avatar: The Last Airbender featured a mechanic inspired by awaken: earthbend. This new mechanic is used more prolifically as it is not templated as a mana sink.[6]

Rules

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (November 14, 2025—Avatar: The Last Airbender)

Awaken
A keyword ability that lets you turn a land you control into a creature. See rule 702.113, “Awaken.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (November 14, 2025—Avatar: The Last Airbender)

  • 702.113. Awaken
    • 702.113a Awaken appears on some instants and sorceries. It represents two abilities: a static ability that functions while the spell with awaken is on the stack and a spell ability. “Awaken N—[cost]” means “You may pay [cost] rather than pay this spell’s mana cost as you cast this spell” and “If this spell’s awaken cost was paid, put N +1/+1 counters on target land you control. That land becomes a 0/0 Elemental creature with haste. It’s still a land.” Casting a spell using its awaken ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.
    • 702.113b The controller of a spell with awaken chooses the target of the awaken spell ability only if that player chose to pay the spell’s awaken cost. Otherwise the spell is cast as if it didn’t have that target.

Rulings

From the Battle for Zendikar‎ Mechanics article (August 31, 2015)[2]

  • You can target a land that's already a creature.
  • If you cast a spell for its awaken cost, you must choose a legal target for every instance of the word "target," including the one included in the awaken ability.
  • If a spell with awaken normally doesn't require a target, and you choose to cast it for its awaken cost, you will add a target to the spell by doing so. If that target land becomes illegal before the spell tries to resolve, the spell will be countered.

Examples

Example

Sheer Drop 2 generic manaWhite mana
Sorcery
Destroy target tapped creature.
Awaken 3—5 generic manaWhite mana (If you cast this card for 5 generic manaWhite mana, also put three +1/+1 counters on target land you control and it becomes a 0/0 Elemental creature with haste. It's still a land.)

See also

References