Graft

From MTG Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Graft
Keyword Ability
Type Static (1st ability)
Triggered (2nd ability)
Introduced Dissension
Last used Future Sight
Reminder Text Graft N (This creature enters with N +1/+1 counters on it. Whenever another creature enters, you may move a +1/+1 counter from this creature onto it.)
Storm Scale 8[1]
Scryfall Statistics

Graft is a keyword ability, largely only seen in the Dissension expansion, that is associated with the Simic guild. The only card with graft outside of that set, and also the only non-creature, is Llanowar Reborn from Future Sight.

Description

Graft works by allowing the creature to move a +1/+1 counter from itself onto a creature that just entered the battlefield. All creatures with Graft enter with multiple +1/+1 counters to enable this, and most bestow some form of ability to others with counters. Thus far, only creatures that are aligned with the Simic Combine (green and/or blue) have graft.

The ability was unpopular and frustrating to program: it triggered on all creatures entering, including the opponents'. While it allowed the design of Cytoplast Manipulator, it meant another trigger per graft creature, per creature entering, which was frustrating as graft creatures all wanted to be played together. Being a creature-oriented mechanic without powerful creatures, it was not played and hence landed at 8 on the Storm Scale. The mechanic has yet to be revisited.

Rules

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (July 25, 2025—Edge of Eternities)

Graft
A keyword ability that has a permanent enter the battlefield with +1/+1 counters on it and can move those counters to other creatures. See rule 702.58, “Graft.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (July 25, 2025—Edge of Eternities)

  • 702.58. Graft
    • 702.58a Graft represents both a static ability and a triggered ability. “Graft N” means “This permanent enters with N +1/+1 counters on it” and “Whenever another creature enters, if this permanent has a +1/+1 counter on it, you may move a +1/+1 counter from this permanent onto that creature.”
    • 702.58b If a permanent has multiple instances of graft, each one works separately.

Rulings

  • All creatures with graft in Dissension are 0/0 creatures. When the last +1/+1 counter is moved off of it, it will be put into its owner's graveyard as a state-based effect unless some other effect is boosting its toughness.
  • Graft's triggered ability triggers each time a creature enters the battlefield, regardless of who controls the new creature. A player may move a +1/+1 counter onto another player's creature this way.
  • When a creature enters the battlefield, all graft abilities will trigger. The controllers of those abilities choose, one at a time as those abilities resolve, whether to move a counter. A creature that has just entered the battlefield may receive multiple +1/+1 counters this way.
  • Graft isn't targeted. The ability can move a counter onto an untargetable creature or a creature with protection from creatures.
  • The counter moved off a creature with graft as the graft ability resolves doesn't have to be one of the counters put on the card as a result of the graft ability. It can be any +1/+1 counter on it. No other types of counters may be moved this way.
  • If a permanent with graft isn't a creature when a new creature enters the battlefield, the graft ability will still trigger and a +1/+1 counter may still be moved.
  • If a creature with graft and another creature enter the battlefield simultaneously, the graft ability will trigger. The ability's controller may move a +1/+1 counter onto the other creature.
  • Many creatures with graft also have an activated ability that targets a creature with a +1/+1 counter on it. In most cases, that means it can target itself. The target creature may have any number of +1/+1 counters on it. The target creature doesn't need to have graft.
  • If the target of such an activated ability loses all its +1/+1 counters before the ability resolves, the ability will not be resolved for having an illegal target. If the targeted creature loses all its +1/+1 counters after the ability resolves, it won't lose the bonus it was granted by the ability.

Examples

Example

Helium Squirter 4 generic manaBlue mana
Creature — Beast Mutant
0/0
Graft 3 (This creature enters with three +1/+1 counters on it. Whenever another creature enters, you may move a +1/+1 counter from this creature onto it.)
1 generic mana: Target creature with a +1/+1 counter on it gains flying until end of turn.

References