Free mechanic
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Free mechanic | |
---|---|
Mechanic | |
Introduced | Urza's Saga |
Last used | Dominaria |
Scryfall Statistics | |
The free mechanic is an ability which untaps a number of lands equal to a spell's mana value.
For creature spells, it is an "enter" triggered ability. For non-creature spells, it is part of the spells' rules text. Spells using the free mechanic were originally printed in Urza's block and were all blue. The mechanic made a cameo years later in Dominaria.
Zacama, Primal Calamity, printed in Rivals of Ixalan also uses the mechanic, but has a safety valve of only triggering if the creature was cast. The mechanic proved to be fundamentally broken.[1]
Rulings
- You don't choose which lands to untap until the spell or triggered ability resolves.
- You may untap any lands. This includes lands you didn't tap to produce mana used to cast the spell, lands you don't control, and lands that have shroud or otherwise can't be targeted by spells or abilities.
- If a spell with the free mechanic is countered, none of its effects happen. You won't get to untap any lands.
- If a permanent with the free mechanic "enter ability" enters the battlefield under your control as the result of a spell or ability, its "enter ability" will still trigger even though it wasn't cast. You'll get to untap lands when the ability resolves.
References
- ↑ Mark Rosewater (November 10, 2003). "Make No Mistake". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.