Mayhem
| Mayhem | |
|---|---|
| Keyword Ability | |
| Type |
Static (1st ability) Triggered (2nd ability) |
| Introduced | Through the Omenpaths 1 |
| Last used | Marvel's Spider-Man |
| Reminder Text | Mayhem [cost] (You may cast this card from your graveyard for [cost] if you discarded it this turn. Timing rules still apply.) |
| Scryfall Statistics | |
Mayhem is a keyword ability on spells that allows a player to cast that spell for an alternate cost if the card is discarded that turn.[1][2] It is a cleaner version of Madness.[3]
Description
Mayhem is an alternate cost that can appear on any type and color. It first appeared in Marvel's Spider-Man associated with Spider-Man's rogues' gallery and its associated Universes Within set Through the Omenpaths 1. While it has similarities to madness, it has three major differences:
- The cards are put directly into the graveyard and trigger abilities for doing so, rather than being discarded into exile;
- The cards do not have to be cast immediately;
- The cards still follow normal timing restrictions, unlike how madness allows them to be cast whenever they're discarded.
Rules
From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (November 14, 2025—Avatar: The Last Airbender)
- Mayhem
- A keyword ability that allows you to play cards you discarded this turn from your graveyard for an alternative cost. See rule 702.187, “Mayhem.”
From the Comprehensive Rules (November 14, 2025—Avatar: The Last Airbender)
- 702.187. Mayhem
- 702.187a Mayhem is a static ability that functions while the card with mayhem is in a player’s graveyard.
- 702.187b “Mayhem [cost]” means “As long as you discarded this card this turn, you may cast it from your graveyard by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost.” Casting a spell using its mayhem ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.
- 702.187c “Mayhem” without a cost means “You may play this card from your graveyard if you discarded it this turn.”
Rulings
From the Release Notes for Marvel's Spider-Man (September 5, 2025)[4]
- Mayhem represents an alternative cost that can be paid to cast a spell from your graveyard if you discarded the card with mayhem that turn. You must pay any additional costs the spell has.
- You must follow all normal timing rules when casting a spell with mayhem. For example, you can't cast a creature card with mayhem you couldn't normally cast during an opponent's turn, even if you discard that card during an opponent's turn.
Examples
Example
Electro's Bolt
Sorcery
Electro's Bolt deals 4 damage to target creature.
Mayhem (You may cast this card from your graveyard for
if you discarded it this turn. Timing rules still apply.)
See also
References
- ↑ Matt Tabak (August 29, 2025). "Magic: The Gathering® - Marvel's Spider-Man Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- ↑ Eric Levine (September 15, 2025). "Through the Omenpaths Release FAQ". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- ↑ Mark Rosewater (July 25, 2025). "I really like the new Mayhem mechanic, but I know some people who are worried what it means for Madness.". Blogatog. Tumblr.
- ↑ Jess Dunks & Eric Levine (September 5, 2025). "Magic: The Gathering® - Marvel's Spider-Man Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
