Web-slinging

From MTG Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Web-slinging
UW: Enweb⟩
Keyword Ability
Type Static
Introduced Through the Omenpaths 1
Last used Marvel's Spider-Man
Reminder Text Web-slinging [cost] (You may cast this spell for [cost] if you also return a tapped creature you control to its owner's hand.)
Scryfall Statistics

Web-slinging (UW: Enweb) is a keyword ability introduced in Through the Omenpaths 1 and Marvel's Spider-Man that provides an alternative cost. The abilities are identical but are named differently in Universes Beyond and Within.[1][2]

Description

Web-slinging is an ability that allows players to return a tapped creature they control to its owner's hand to cast the spell for a alternative cost. Web-slinging can be used on both permanents and spells. Returning a tapped creature is part of the cost, so if you don't control one, you can't use web-slinging to cast the spell.[3]

Using Web-slinging to cast a spell doesn't change when you can cast that spell. On most cards, using web-slinging will save you some mana and (depending on which creature you return to hand) may give you another crack at some advantageous "enters" abilities. Some cards have bonuses if they were cast using web-slinging.

The Enweb version of the keyword is currently not covered in the Comprehensive Rules. However, if the mechanic would return in a non Marvel set, it would not be called web-slinging.[4]

Rules

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (September 19, 2025—Marvel's Spider-Man)

Web-slinging
A keyword ability that allows spells to be cast for an alternative cost by returning a tapped creature you control to its owner’s hand. See rule 702.188, “Web-slinging.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (September 19, 2025—Marvel's Spider-Man)

  • 702.188. Web-slinging
    • 702.188a Web-slinging is a static ability that functions while the spell with web-slinging is on the stack. “Web-slinging [cost]” means “You may cast this spell by paying [cost] and returning a tapped creature you control to its owner’s hand rather than paying its mana cost.” Casting a spell using its web-slinging ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2f–h.

Rulings

  • Web-slinging represents an alternative cost. If another effect allows you to play a card for a different alternative cost, including "without paying its mana cost," you can't also choose to pay its web-slinging cost. If any additional costs from other sources are applied, you must pay those.
  • You must follow all normal timing rules when casting a spell with web-slinging. For creatures, that usually means you must cast it during a main phase of your turn while the stack is empty.
  • The creature you return must be tapped at the time you pay costs, but doesn't necessarily need to be tapped before you start casting the spell. For example, if you tap a creature with a mana ability to pay part of the spell's web-slinging cost, you could also return that creature to your hand to pay the cost.
  • If any permanent has an ability that triggers when the permanent you return leaves the battlefield, that ability will be put on the stack after you finish casting the spell, and it will resolve before that spell.[5][1]

Examples

Example 1

Spider-Man, Web-Slinger 2 generic manaWhite mana
Legendary Creature — Spider Human Hero
Web-slinging White mana (You may cast this spell for White mana if you also return a tapped creature you control to its owner’s hand.)
3/3

Example 2

Darval, Whose Web Protects 2 generic manaWhite mana
Legendary Creature — Spider Human Hero
Enweb White mana (You may cast this spell for White mana if you also return a tapped creature you control to its owner’s hand.)
3/3

Cards that grant web-slinging (enweb)

References