Play
Play | |
---|---|
Keyword Action | |
Introduced | Alpha |
Last used | Evergreen |
Reminder Text | No official reminder text |
Scryfall Statistics | |
Play is a keyword action that encompasses two possible actions, depending on a card's type. Playing a land is a special action that moves that land onto the battlefield. Because it is a special action, it cannot be responded to. Playing any other card means casting that card as a spell, which involves the stack and allows players to respond. Lands are not spells, and cannot be cast.
Because play applies to any card type, this keyword action is used in rules text that references other cards of uncertain types. When the text of an ability implies that any cards that it references must be nonlands, cast is used instead. For example, the impulsive draw +1 ability of Chandra, Flameshaper uses play, because the cards from the library might be of any type. In contrast, Omniscience only applies to spells, and uses the cast keyword. Augur of Autumn uses both keywords in appropriate contexts.
History
The word "play" has been used to describe the process of using cards since Alpha, but early rules text was often inconsistent. Blue Elemental Blast and Purelace can both target spells on the stack, but the former describes the spell as "being cast" and the latter as "being played". Neither card uses either word in their most recent Oracle text.
In the Sixth Edition rules changes, play was broadened to include cards of all types, as well as activated abilities. That change was reverted in Magic 2010, which revived the cast keyword and added activate for activated abilities.[1] The Magic 2010 update also renamed the "in play" zone to the battlefield.[2]
Rules
From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (September 19, 2025—Marvel's Spider-Man)
- Play
- 1. To play a land is to put a land onto the battlefield as a special action. See rule 116, “Special Actions,” and rule 305, “Lands.”
- 2. To play a card is to play that card as a land or cast that card as a spell, whichever is appropriate. See rule 601, “Casting Spells.”
- 3. (Obsolete) Casting a spell used to be known as playing a spell. Cards with that text have received errata in the Oracle card reference. See Cast.
- 4. (Obsolete) Activating an activated ability used to be known as playing an activated ability. Cards with that text have received errata in the Oracle card reference. See Activate.
- 5. (Obsolete) The battlefield used to be known as the in-play zone. Cards that were printed with text that contains the phrases “in play,” “from play,” “into play,” or the like are referring to the battlefield and have received errata in the Oracle card reference. See Battlefield.
From the Comprehensive Rules (September 19, 2025—Marvel's Spider-Man)
- 701.18. Play
- 701.18a To play a land means to put it onto the battlefield from the zone it’s in (usually the hand). A player may play a land if they have priority, it’s the main phase of their turn, the stack is empty, and they haven’t played a land this turn. Playing a land is a special action (see rule 116), so it doesn’t use the stack; it simply happens. Putting a land onto the battlefield as the result of a spell or ability isn’t the same as playing a land. See rule 305, “Lands.”
- 701.18b To play a card means to play that card as a land or to cast that card as a spell, whichever is appropriate.
- 701.18c Some effects instruct a player to “play” with a certain aspect of the game changed, such as “Play with the top card of your library revealed.” “Play” in this sense means to play the Magic game.
- 701.18d Previously, the action of casting a spell, or casting a card as a spell, was referred to on cards as “playing” that spell or that card. Cards that were printed with that text have received errata in the Oracle card reference so they now refer to “casting” that spell or that card.
- 701.18e Previously, the action of using an activated ability was referred to on cards as “playing” that ability. Cards that were printed with that text have received errata in the Oracle card reference so they now refer to “activating” that ability.
References
- ↑ Wizards of the Coast (June 10, 2009). "Rules Changes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- ↑ Mark Rosewater (June 8, 2015). "Evergreen Eggs & Ham". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.