For Mirrodin!

From Magic: The Gathering Wiki
(Redirected from For mirrodin!)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
For Mirrodin!
Keyword Ability
Type Triggered
Introduced Phyrexia: All Will Be One
Last used Alchemy: Phyrexia
Reminder Text For Mirrodin! (When this Equipment enters, create a 2/2 red Rebel creature token, then attach this to it.)
Scryfall Statistics

For Mirrodin! is a keyword ability for equipment cards introduced in Phyrexia: All Will Be One.[1] It is the Mirran equivalent of Living weapon.[2]

Description

When a card with For Mirrodin! enters, it creates a 2/2 red Rebel creature token and attaches itself to it.

The mechanic was designed to help give the surviving Mirrans representation as a draft archetype.[2] R&D liked the idea of mirroring a mechanic from Scars of Mirrodin block to show that the Mirrans have been surviving by co-opting some parts of New Phyrexia. One of the key notes from Scars of Mirrodin block was that all equipment with Living weapon had to provide a toughness boost to the equipped creature and that meant less space for other mechanical ideas. Using 2/2 Rebel tokens, rather than the 0/0 Germ tokens of Living weapon, allowed for more design freedom in the Equipment; Barbed Batterfist gives negative toughness while Hexgold Hoverwings, Bladehold War-Whip and Hexgold Halberd grant abilities but not power and toughness boosts.

In design, the mechanic was known as "Take up Arms".[3]

Rules

From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (November 14, 2025—Avatar: The Last Airbender)

For Mirrodin!
A keyword ability that creates a 2/2 red Rebel creature token and then attaches the Equipment with the ability to that token. See rule 702.163, “For Mirrodin!”

From the Comprehensive Rules (November 14, 2025—Avatar: The Last Airbender)

  • 702.163. For Mirrodin!
    • 702.163a For Mirrodin! is a triggered ability. “For Mirrodin!” means “When this Equipment enters, create a 2/2 red Rebel creature token, then attach this Equipment to it.”

Rulings

From the Release Notes for Phyrexia: All Will Be One (January 27, 2023)[4]

  • The Rebel enters the battlefield as a 2/2 creature, then the Equipment becomes attached to it. Abilities that trigger when a creature enters the battlefield see that a 2/2 creature entered the battlefield.
  • If the Rebel is destroyed, the Equipment stays on the battlefield. Similarly, you may pay its equip cost to move it from the Rebel token to another creature you control.
  • If the ability causes two Rebel tokens to be created (due to an effect such as that of Mondrak, Glory Dominus), the Equipment becomes attached to only one of them.

From the Phyrexia: All Will Be One Mechanics article (paraphrased) (January 17, 2023)[1]

  • The Equipment enters the battlefield unattached like other Equipment. If for some reason it leaves the battlefield before the triggered ability resolves, you'll still create the Rebel creature token.
  • Like other Equipment, each Equipment with For Mirrodin! has an equip cost. You can pay this cost to attach an Equipment to another creature you control.

Examples

Example

Dragonwing Glider 3 generic manaRed manaRed mana
Artifact — Equipment
For Mirrodin! (When this Equipment enters, create a 2/2 red Rebel creature token, then attach this to it.)
Equipped creature gets +2/+2 and has flying and haste.
Equip 3 generic manaRed manaRed mana (3 generic manaRed manaRed mana: Attach to target creature you control. Equip only as a sorcery.)

Trivia

See also

References

  1. a b Matt Tabak (January 17, 2023). "Phyrexia: All Will Be One Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. a b Mark Rosewater (January 17, 2023). "Phyrexia: All Will Be One Direction, Part 1". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Mark Rosewater (January 23, 2023). "Phyrexia: All Will Be One Direction, Part 2". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Jess Dunks (January 27, 2023). "Phyrexia: All Will Be One Release Notes". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.