Harness

From MTG Wiki
(Redirected from Harnessed)
Jump to navigation Jump to search
This article or section is under construction.
Under construction
This article or section is under construction. Expect many and frequent revisions to this content.
Harness
Keyword Action
Introduced Marvel's Spider-Man
Last used Marvel's Spider-Man
Reminder Text Harness [card name] (Once harnessed, its origin ability is active.)
Scryfall Statistics

Harness is a keyword action introduced in Marvel's Spider-Man.[1][2] It is unique to the set's Infinity Stone, but is expected to be used in future Marvel sets, as well.

Description

Each Terminus Stone has a pair of linked abilities. The first of the two allows its controller to harness the stone, giving it the "harnessed" designation. The second is the stone's origin ability, which can only be used or becomes active while the card has its "harnessed" designation.

Origin ability

Once the harnessed designation has been achieved, the card's Origin ability becomes active for the rest of the game.[2]

The Universes Beyond Infinity Stones refer to this ability as the Infinity symbol (infinity) ability instead.[3]

Rules

Rulings

  • "Harnessed" is a designation that the permanent has once an ability instructs you to harness it. It has no special rules meaning other than being a designation that the ∞ ability (and, theoretically, other effects) can see.
  • Until it is harnessed, The Soul Stone doesn't have the ability listed after the infinity symbol. It also doesn't have that ability in zones other than the battlefield.
  • Being harnessed isn't copiable. If something else becomes a copy of The Soul Stone, it must be harnessed separately. Similarly, if The Soul Stone is already harnessed and becomes a copy of something else, it stays harnessed, though it's very likely that won't be relevant until that copy effect ends.[4]

Example

Example

The Terminus of Return 1 generic manaBlack mana
Legendary Artifact — Terminus Stone
Indestructible
The tap symbol.: Add Black mana.
6 generic manaBlack mana, The tap symbol., Exile a creature you control: Harness The Terminus of Return. (Once harnessed, its origin ability is active.)
Origin — At the beginning of your upkeep, return target creature card from your graveyard to the battlefield.

References