Morbid: Difference between revisions
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
>Yandere-sliver mNo edit summary |
>Neoheart No edit summary |
||
Line 2: | Line 2: | ||
| name = Morbid | | name = Morbid | ||
| first = Innistrad | | first = Innistrad | ||
| last = Modern Horizons | | last = Modern Horizons 2 | ||
| reminder = …, if a creature died this turn, … | | reminder = …, if a creature died this turn, … | ||
| stats = {{stats| | | stats = {{stats|B=7|R=2|G=10|BG=1}} | ||
}} | }} | ||
'''''Morbid''''' is an [[ability word]] introduced in ''[[Innistrad]]''. It signals that a spell or ability has different effects, additional effects, or may only be used if a creature has [[Dies|died]] earlier in the same turn.<ref>{{DailyRef|latest-developments/morbid-thoughts-2011-11-11|Morbid Thoughts|[[Zac Hill]]|November 11, 2011}}</ref> | '''''Morbid''''' is an [[ability word]] introduced in ''[[Innistrad]]''. It signals that a spell or ability has different effects, additional effects, or may only be used if a creature has [[Dies|died]] earlier in the same turn.<ref>{{DailyRef|latest-developments/morbid-thoughts-2011-11-11|Morbid Thoughts|[[Zac Hill]]|November 11, 2011}}</ref> |
Revision as of 15:07, 1 June 2021
Morbid | |
---|---|
Ability Word | |
Introduced | Innistrad |
Last used | Modern Horizons 2 |
Typical Text | Morbid — …, if a creature died this turn, … |
Statistics |
20 cards 35% 10% 50% 5% |
Scryfall Search | |
keyword:"Morbid" |
Morbid is an ability word introduced in Innistrad. It signals that a spell or ability has different effects, additional effects, or may only be used if a creature has died earlier in the same turn.[1]
History
After Innistrad, morbid was also featured in Dark Ascension, Conspiracy, Commander 2014 and Modern Horizons[2]. It was featured as the BG draft archetype in Core Set 2021, although without the ability word.
Rulings
- Morbid abilities merely check if a creature died earlier in the turn. The creature card doesn't need to still be in the graveyard.
- Token creatures can also die, going to their owner's graveyard before ceasing to exist.
- Some morbid abilities that appear on instants and sorceries use the word "instead." The spells have an upgraded effect when they resolve if a creature has died earlier in the turn. You only get the upgraded effect, not both effects.
- Some morbid abilities are activated abilities of permanents. To activate such an ability, a creature must have died earlier in the turn.
- Triggered morbid abilities use an intervening "if" clause. A creature must have died earlier in the turn in order for these abilities to trigger; otherwise, they do nothing. In other words, there's no way to have the ability trigger if no creature has died that turn, even if you intend to have a creature die in response to the triggered ability.
- Using Morbid allows a card to be state-based as long as conditions are met.
Examples
Example
Hollowhenge Scavenger
Creature — Elemental
4/5
Morbid — When Hollowhenge Scavenger enters the battlefield, if a creature died this turn, you gain 5 life.
References
- ↑ Zac Hill (November 11, 2011). "Morbid Thoughts". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
- ↑ Matt Tabak (May 31, 2019). "Modern Horizons Mechanics". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.