Spell mastery: Difference between revisions

From MTG Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
No edit summary
>Hunterofsalvation
No edit summary
 
(24 intermediate revisions by 8 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
{{Infobox ability
{{Infobox ability
| name = Spell Mastery
| name = Spell mastery
| first = Magic Origins
| first = Magic Origins
| last = Magic Origins
| last = Lord of the Rings Holiday Release
| reminder = If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, ...
| reminder = If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, ...
| stats = 17 cards <br /> {{w}}17.6 % {{u}} 23.5 % {{b}} 23.5 % {{r}} 17.6 % {{g}} 17.6 %
| stats = {{stats|U=4|B=4|G=3|R=3|W=3}}
}}
}}
'''Spell mastery''' is an [[ability word]] that gives a card different or additional [[characteristic]]s if its controller has 2 or more [[instant]] or [[sorcery]] [[cards]] in his or her [[graveyard]]. <ref>{{NewRef|feature/magic-origins-mechanics-article-2015-06-22|''Magic Origins'' Mechanics Article|[[Matt Tabak]]|June 22, 2015}}</ref> Introduced in ''[[Magic Origins]]'', the mechanic was a vertical set of horizontal cycles of instants and sorceries, plus another common in black and blue.
'''''Spell mastery''''' is an [[ability word]] that gives a card different or additional [[characteristic]]s if its controller has 2 or more [[instant]] or [[sorcery]] [[card]]s in their [[graveyard]].<ref>{{DailyRef|feature/magic-origins-mechanics-article-2015-06-22|''Magic Origins'' Mechanics Article|[[Matt Tabak]]|June 22, 2015}}</ref>  


Spell Mastery is written as "''Spell mastery'' -- [[static ability]], [[Replacement Effect|self-replacement]], [[activated ability]] and/or [[triggered ability]].
==Description==
Introduced in ''[[Magic Origins]]'', the mechanic was featured on a [[vertical cycle]] of [[instant]]s and [[sorceries]] in each color, plus on another common in black and blue.
 
Spell mastery is written as "''Spell mastery'' — If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, [[static ability]], [[Replacement Effect|self-replacement]], [[activated ability]], and/or [[triggered ability]]."
 
Spell mastery was received well enough to return one day.<ref>{{EzTumblr|https://markrosewater.tumblr.com/post/627027311411265536/im-surprised-renown-hasnt-been-used-again-and-i|title=I'm surprised Renown hasn't been used again|August 20, 2020}}</ref> Some permanents have been printed with similar designs but variable counts without the ability word, in <c>Ghitu Lavarunner</c> (two), {{Card|Curious Homunculus}} (three), {{Card|Spelleater Wolverine}} (three), {{Card|Magmatic Channeler}} (four), and {{Card|Octavia, Living Thesis}} (eight).
 
Spell mastery reappeared as a one-off on <c>Olórin's Searing Light</c> from the ''[[Lord of the Rings Holiday Release]]''.


==Rulings==
==Rulings==
*Check to see if there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard as the spell resolves to determine whether the spell mastery ability applies. The spell itself won’t count because it’s still on the stack as you make this check.
*Check to see if there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard as the spell resolves to determine whether the spell mastery ability applies. The spell itself won't count because it's still on the stack as you make this check.
 
==Examples==
==Examples==
{{examples|text=''
{{examples|<c>Ravaging Blaze</c> {{X}}{{R}}{{R}}<br>Instant<br>Ravaging Blaze deals X damage to target creature.<br>''Spell mastery'' — If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, Ravaging Blaze also deals X damage to that creature's controller.}}
*<c>Ravaging Blaze</c> - {{X}}{{R}}{{R}}<br>Instant<br>Ravaging Blaze deals X damage to target creature.<br>''Spell mastery'' — If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, Ravaging Blaze also deals X damage to that creature's controller.
}}


==References==
==References==
{{Reflist}}
{{Reflist}}


{{Keywords and abilities}}
{{Mechanics|ability}}

Latest revision as of 18:01, 21 September 2023

Spell mastery
Ability Word
Introduced Magic Origins
Last used Lord of the Rings Holiday Release
Typical Text Spell mastery — If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, ...
Statistics
17 cards
{W} 17.6% {U} 23.5% {B} 23.5% {R} 17.6% {G} 17.6%
Scryfall Search
keyword:"Spell mastery"

Spell mastery is an ability word that gives a card different or additional characteristics if its controller has 2 or more instant or sorcery cards in their graveyard.[1]

Description

Introduced in Magic Origins, the mechanic was featured on a vertical cycle of instants and sorceries in each color, plus on another common in black and blue.

Spell mastery is written as "Spell mastery — If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, static ability, self-replacement, activated ability, and/or triggered ability."

Spell mastery was received well enough to return one day.[2] Some permanents have been printed with similar designs but variable counts without the ability word, in Ghitu Lavarunner (two), Curious Homunculus (three), Spelleater Wolverine (three), Magmatic Channeler (four), and Octavia, Living Thesis (eight).

Spell mastery reappeared as a one-off on Olórin's Searing Light from the Lord of the Rings Holiday Release.

Rulings

  • Check to see if there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard as the spell resolves to determine whether the spell mastery ability applies. The spell itself won't count because it's still on the stack as you make this check.

Examples

Example

Ravaging Blaze {X}{R}{R}
Instant
Ravaging Blaze deals X damage to target creature.
Spell mastery — If there are two or more instant and/or sorcery cards in your graveyard, Ravaging Blaze also deals X damage to that creature's controller.

References

  1. Matt Tabak (June 22, 2015). "Magic Origins Mechanics Article". magicthegathering.com. Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater (August 20, 2020). "I'm surprised Renown hasn't been used again". Blogatog. Tumblr.