This is a template documentation subpage for Template:Rulings. It contains usage information, categories, interlanguage links and other content that is not part of the original template page.
This template is for rulings (about e.g. mechanics) that are directly quoted from Release Notes or another official source. It uses <div class="crBox"> and <p class="crTitle"> for formatting, same as {{CR}} and {{examples}}.
Rulings from different sources should use different instances of this template, each appropriately labeled.
{{rulings
| set = <!-- If the rulings are from a set's Release Notes, include the full name of the set here -->
| source = <!-- If the rulings aren't from a Release Notes, include the name of the document here -->
| date =
| ref =
| refname =
| Ruling 1
| Ruling 2
| Ruling 3
...
}}
1, 2 … 30: Rulings, directly copied from the source. By default, they are formatted as a bulleted list.
gloss: If true (e.g. gloss=1), changes the bulleted list to a description list. See #Description list for formatting.
set: Makes the title "From the Release Notes for ''[[{{{set}}}]]''"
source: Makes the title "From {{{source}}}". Overrides set.
date: The date that the source was published.
ref: The reference for the source. Don't include <ref> tags; they automatically applied. ref can be omitted if refname points to an existing source in the article.
refname: The name of the reference.
Examples
Bulleted list example
{{rulings
| set = Streets of New Capenna
| date = March 31, 2022
| ref = {{DailyRef|feature/streets-new-capenna-release-notes-2022-04-20|''Streets of New Capenna'' Release Notes|[[Wizards of the Coast]]|April 20, 2022}}
| refname = SNC Release Notes
| Once an ability that causes a creature to connive begins to resolve, no player may take any other actions until it’s done. Notably, opponents can’t try to remove the conniving creature after you discard a nonland card but before it receives a counter.
| If no card is discarded, most likely because that player’s hand is empty and an effect says they can’t draw cards, the conniving creature does not receive a +1/+1 counter.
| If a resolving spell or ability instructs a specific creature to connive but that creature has left the battlefield, the creature still connives. If you discard a nonland card this way, you won’t put a +1/+1 counter on anything. Abilities that trigger "when [that creature] connives" will trigger.
| Connive X is a variant of connive. If a creature connives X, its controller will draw X cards, discard X cards, then then put a number of +1/+1 counters on the conniving permanent equal to the number of nonland cards discarded this way.
}}
Once an ability that causes a creature to connive begins to resolve, no player may take any other actions until it’s done. Notably, opponents can’t try to remove the conniving creature after you discard a nonland card but before it receives a counter.
If no card is discarded, most likely because that player’s hand is empty and an effect says they can’t draw cards, the conniving creature does not receive a +1/+1 counter.
If a resolving spell or ability instructs a specific creature to connive but that creature has left the battlefield, the creature still connives. If you discard a nonland card this way, you won’t put a +1/+1 counter on anything. Abilities that trigger "when [that creature] connives" will trigger.
Connive X is a variant of connive. If a creature connives X, its controller will draw X cards, discard X cards, then then put a number of +1/+1 counters on the conniving permanent equal to the number of nonland cards discarded this way.