Delve
Delve | |
---|---|
Keyword Ability | |
Type | Static |
Introduced | Future Sight |
Last used | Khans of Tarkir |
Reminder Text | Delve (Each card you exile from your graveyard while casting this spell pays for .) |
Statistics |
5 cards 80% 20% |
Scryfall Search | |
keyword:"delve (" |
Delve is a keyword ability that enables an alternative method for paying the mana costs of certain spells. It was introduced in Future Sight. At the time, it was only printed on three timeshifted cards. It was re-introduced as the clan specific mechanic for the Sultai Brood in Khans of Tarkir. [1]
Rules
From the ()
Rulings
- Delve can't reduce the colored portion of a spell's cost.
- When using delve, a player can remove a number of cards in his or her graveyard that exceeds the generic mana cost of the spell. Doing so will reduce the generic mana cost of the spell to 0, though the colored mana cost of the spell will still have to be paid.
- While playing a spell with delve, you can sacrifice a permanent as part of a mana ability, then remove that card from your graveyard as part of delve. So a Blood Pet, for example, can be used twice to help play a delve spell. The same is true if the spell has an additional cost such as "sacrifice a permanent" or "discard a card."
Examples
Cards with Delve
Card | Set | Comment |
Death Rattle | Future Sight | |
Logic Knot | Future Sight | |
Tombstalker | Future Sight | |
Necropolis Fiend | Khans of Tarkir | |
Shambling Attendants | Khans of Tarkir |