Prowess: Difference between revisions

From MTG Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
>Yandere-sliver
mNo edit summary
>Hanmac
No edit summary
Line 5: Line 5:
| last = Evergreen
| last = Evergreen
| reminder = Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.
| reminder = Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.
| stats = 22 cards<br/>{{u}}54.5% {{w}}22.7% {{r}}22.7%
| stats = 27 cards<br/>{{u}}55.6% {{r}}22.2% {{w}}18.5% {{ur}}3.7%
| storm = 1
| storm_ref = <ref>{{NewRef|making-magic/storm-scale-khans-tarkir-block-2016-02-29|Storm Scale: Khans of Tarkir Block|[[Mark Rosewater]]|February 29, 2016}}</ref>
}}
}}


Line 16: Line 18:


==Rules==
==Rules==
{{CR|lookup=Prowess}}
{{CR|Prowess}}


==Rulings==
==Rulings==

Revision as of 16:18, 4 May 2016

Prowess
Keyword Ability
Type Triggered
Introduced Khans of Tarkir
Last used Evergreen
Reminder Text Prowess (Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.)
Storm Scale 1[1]
Statistics 27 cards
{U}55.6% {R}22.2% {W}18.5% Template:Ur3.7%
Scryfall Search
keyword:"Prowess"

Prowess is a keyword ability that was introduced as the clan-specific mechanic for the Jeskai Way in Khans of Tarkir [2] and Fate Reforged. [3]

Description

Creatures with Prowess trigger and get +1/+1 until end of turn when a non-creature spell is cast by their controller.

R&D's need for blue to get a combat-relevant keyword that wasn't about evasion caused Prowess to become evergreen in Magic Origins. It is secondary in red and tertiary in white. [4] [5]

Rules

From the Comprehensive Rules (June 7, 2024—Modern Horizons 3)

  • 702.108. Prowess
    • 702.108a Prowess is a triggered ability. “Prowess” means “Whenever you cast a noncreature spell, this creature gets +1/+1 until end of turn.”
    • 702.108b If a creature has multiple instances of prowess, each triggers separately.

Rulings

  • Any spell you cast that doesn't have the type creature will cause prowess to trigger. If a spell has multiple types, and one of those types is creature (such as an artifact creature), casting it won't cause prowess to trigger. Playing a land also won't cause prowess to trigger.
  • Prowess triggers only once for any spell, even if that spell has multiple types.
  • Prowess goes on the stack on top of the spell that caused it to trigger. It will resolve before that spell.
  • Once it triggers, prowess isn't connected to the spell that caused it to trigger. If that spell is countered, prowess will still resolve.

Examples

References

Template:Clans of Tarkir mechanics

Template:Keywords and abilities