Token: Difference between revisions

From MTG Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
>@legacy41915546
No edit summary
>LegacymtgsalvationUser1033
(templated rules, removed stub tag)
Line 9: Line 9:
</div>
</div>


<div style="background-color: #f5ece5; border: 1px solid #111111; padding: 10px; padding-top: 0px; margin-top: 20px; margin-bottom:20px; margin-right: 100px; margin-left: 100px;">
{{rules|text=
'''From the [[Comprehensive Rules]]'''
'''From the [[Comprehensive Rules]]'''
*'''216.''' Tokens
*'''216.''' Tokens
Line 16: Line 16:
**'''216.3.''' A token in a zone other than the in-play zone ceases to exist. This is a state-based effect. (Note that a token changing zones sets off triggered abilities before the token ceases to exist.) Once a token has left play, it can't be returned to play by any means.
**'''216.3.''' A token in a zone other than the in-play zone ceases to exist. This is a state-based effect. (Note that a token changing zones sets off triggered abilities before the token ceases to exist.) Once a token has left play, it can't be returned to play by any means.
**'''216.4''' A token that has left play can’t come back into play. If such a token would return to play, it remains in its current zone instead. It ceases to exist the next time state-based effects are checked.
**'''216.4''' A token that has left play can’t come back into play. If such a token would return to play, it remains in its current zone instead. It ceases to exist the next time state-based effects are checked.
</div>
}}
{{rule-stub}}[[Category:Magic rules]]
[[Category:Magic rules]]

Revision as of 14:11, 17 October 2007

A token is a permanent that is not represented by a card. Usually, but not always, tokens are creatures (It is possible to use cards such as Followed Footsteps and Kiki-Jiki, Mirror Breaker to create noncreature tokens).

If a token leaves play and goes to another game zone, it will be there only briefly before ceasing to exist as a state-based effect.

Examples

  • Teysa, Orzhov Scion has the ability: "Whenever another black creature you control is put into a graveyard from play, put a 1/1 white Spirit token with flying into play." If you have a black token creature that gets destroyed, it will go to the graveyard, trigger Teysa's ability and put it on the stack, then disappear.
  • Momentary Blink reads in part: "Remove target creature you control from the game, then return it to play under its owner's control." If this spell is used on a token creature, it will leave play, but cannot come back into play and so stays removed from the game. It will cease to exist when state-based effects are next checked.

From the ()